Aller au contenu principal

// First Daughter and the Black Snake - Distribution

First Daughter and the Black Snake - Distribution

 

Still from MODIFIED

Cinema Politica est fier d'être le distributeur canadien et le distributeur éducatif nord-américain de FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE, un portrait intime de la militante autochtone Winona LaDuke réalisé par Keri Pickett. Ci-dessous, vous pouvez lire le synopsis du film, en apprendre plus sur la réalisatrice et entamer les démarches pour organiser une projection de ce documentaire inspirant dans votre communauté ou votre festival/institution dès aujourd’hui!

À PROPOS DU FILM

Réalisatrice: Keri Pickett
Durée: 104 minutes
Langues: Anglais et Ojibwe, sous-titres anglais
Sortie: 2017

La “prophétie du 7ème feu” annonce qu’un “serpent noir” apportera la destruction sur la Terre. Nous aurons le choix entre deux chemins: l’un est rocailleux et l’autre est vert. Pour Winona (Ojibwe pour “première fille”), ce serpent noir est les oléoducs et les trains de pétrole. Lorsqu’elle apprend que l’entreprise canadienne Enbridge planifie de faire passer un oléoduc à travers la terre d’un Traité de 1855 où vit sa communauté, elle et les autres membres de sa communauté s’impliquent immédiatement pour sauver les lacs de riz sauvage sacrés et préserver leur mode de vie autochtone.

Pour en apprendre plus, visitez le site officiel du film, lisez une entrevue avec la réalisatrice et visionnez la bande-annonce ci-dessous.

REVIEWS

“Outre le fait qu'il soit un film magistralement conçu et profondément accrocheur, ce qui rend “First Daughter” si émouvant est la solution encourageante qu'il offre en ces temps sombres."
- Dick Price, LA Progressive

À PROPOS DE WINONA LADUKE

Winona LaDuke est une écrivaine, oratrice et militante reconnue internationalement. Diplômée d’études supérieures en développement économique rural aux universités Harvard et Antioch, LaDuke a dédié sa vie à la protection des territoires et des modes de vie des communautés autochtones. LaDuke est la fondatrice et co-directrice de Honor the Earth, un groupe de défense national qui encourage le soutien et le financement publiques des groupes environnementaux autochtones. Dans sa propre communauté du Nord du Minnesota, elle est la fondatrice du projet de rétablissement territorial White Earth Land Recovery Project, un des plus vastes organismes à but non lucratif basé sur les réserves autochtones au pays, en plus d’être une des chefs de file du développement de stratégies à caractère culturel portant sur le développement durable, l’énergie renouvelable et les systèmes alimentaires. En 1994, Time magazine l’a nommée parmi le top 50 des leaders de moins de 40 ans les plus prometteur.euse.s et, en 2007, LaDuke a été intronisée au National Women’s Hall of Fame.

À PROPOS DE LA RÉALISATRICE

L'oeuvre de Keri Pickett documente ceux et celle qui cherchent à réparer une injustice, partageant des récits racontant comment une seule personne peut faire une différence. Son documentaire primé intitulé  ‘First Daughter and the Black Snake’ suit la militante écologique Winona LaDuke dans les efforts de sa famille et de sa communauté pour tenir les pipelines Sandpiper et Line 3 loin des territoires protégés et de lacs sacrés où est cultivé le riz sauvage. Son premier long métrage documentaire, ‘The Fabulous Ice Age’ (2013- 72 minutes) étudie un siècle de danse sur glace en plus de la quête d'un homme pour sauver l'histoire. Le film est disponible sur Netflix, sous-titrés en dix langues. Le court métrage documentaire ‘Steel // Spirit’, (2015 – 10 minutes) met en vedette l'artiste du mouvement Yves Musard alors qu'il interagit avec “Inside, Outside, 2013” de Richard Serra à la Gagosian Gallery à New York City, NY.

LICENCE À DES FINS PÉDAGOGIQUES

Pour obtenir une licence de projection de FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE à des fins pédagogiques ou pour une institution en Amérique du Nord, cliquez ici et compléter le formulaire.

ORGANISEZ UNE PROJECTION

Pour organiser une projection de FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE pour un festival de film, une projection populaire ou un événement communautaire en Canada, simplement suivre ce lien vers notre formulaire de demande en ligne, ou rendez-vous au bas de cette page pour accéder au formulaire. Nous vous répondrons en un rien de temps.

PROJECTIONS

 

St. Catherines, ON
- 7 sep, 2019, 21:00
, First Ontario Performing Arts Centre Film House, (250 St Paul's St)

St. Catherines, ON
- 6 sep, 2019, 18:30
, First Ontario Performing Arts Centre Film House, (250 St Paul's St)

Winoma, MN
- 7 fév, 2018, 18:30
, Frozen River Film Festival, (St-Mary's University Salvi Hall, 700 Terrace Heights)

Richmond, VA
- 19 nov, 2017, 15:35
, Pocohontas Reframed Storytellers Film Festival, (The Bryd Theater, 2908 W Cary St)

Santa Monica, CA
- 13 nov, 2017, 20:00
, Red Nation Film Festival, (Laemmle Monica Film Center, 1332 2nd St)

San Francisco, CA
- 5 nov, 2017, 15:30
, American Indian Film Festival, (American Indian Film Institute, 2940 16th Street)

Portland, OR
- 28 sep, 2017, 18:30
, Portland Eco-Film Fest, (Hollywood Theater, 4122 NE Sandy Boulevard)

Jacksonville, FL
- 6 sep, 2017, 14:00
, Jacksonville Documentary Film Festival, (Sun Ray Cinema, 1028 Park St)

Santa Fe, CA
- 18 août, 2017, 20:00
, Red Nation Film Festival, (Violet Crown Cinema, 1606 Alcaldesa St)

Marfa, AZ
- 15 juillet, 2017
, Marfa Film Festival, (Crowley Theater, 98 S Austin St)

Madeline, WI
- 6 juillet, 2017, 21:30
, Madeline Island Summer Film Festival, (The Inn, 641 Fort Rd)

Duluth, MN
- 1 juin, 2017, 17:00
, Duluth Superior Film Festival, (Zeitgeist Atrium, 222 E Superior St)

Onamia, MN
- 28 mai, 2017
, Mille Lacs Museum and Trading Post, (43411 Oodena Dr)

Minneapolis, MN
- 27 avril, 2017, 19:00
, Minneapolis St. Paul International Film Festival, (Film Space Founder's Hall, 387 Maria Avenue)

Tucson, AZ
- 24 avril, 2017, 18:00
, Arizona International Film Festival, (The Screening Room, 127 East Congress)

Santa Monica, CA
- 23 fév, 2017
, Native Women in Film, (Laemmle Monica Film Center, 1332 2nd St)

Organiser une projection de FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE

En cas de doute, s'il-vous-plaît indiquer la capacité de la salle

S'il-vous-plaît indiquer l'adresse complète, incluant le code postal.

Si différente de l'adresse de livraison

Si pertinent

Si pertinent

Skip to main content

// First Daughter and the Black Snake - Distribution

First Daughter and the Black Snake - Distribution

 

Still from FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE

Cinema Politica is proud to be the Canadian distributor and the North American educational distributor of Keri Pickett's intimate portrait of Indigenous activist Winona LaDuke, FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE. Below you can read the film's synopsis, learn about the fllmmaker, and importantly—book this urgent documentary for a screening in your community or at your festival/institution today! 

ABOUT THE FILM

Director: Keri Pickett
Running time: 94 minutes
Languages: English and Ojibwe, with English subtitles
Release: 2017

The “Prophecy of the 7th Fire” says a “black snake” will bring destruction to the earth. We will have a choice of two paths. One is scorched, and one is green. For Winona (Ojibwe for “first daughter”), the “black snake” is oil trains and pipelines. When she learns that Canadian-owned Enbridge plans to route a new pipeline through her tribe’s 1855 Treaty land, threatening sacred wild rice lakes, Winona dreams of riding her horse against the current of oil, organizing a spiritual ride, “because a horse can kill a snake.” She and her community spring into action to save the sacred lakes and preserve their traditional indigenous way of life.

To learn more, visit the official website of the film and read an interview with the filmmaker.

REVIEWS

“Besides being a masterfully conceived, thoroughly engaging film, what makes “First Daughter” so moving is the heartening solution it offers in these dark times."
- Dick Price, LA Progressive

“An important film for all of us who care about our Earth."
- Rob Greenfield

ABOUT WINONA LADUKE

Winona LaDuke is an internationally acclaimed author, orator and activist. A graduate of Harvard and Antioch Universities with advanced degrees in rural economic development, LaDuke has devoted her life to protecting the lands and life ways of Native communities. LaDuke is founder and Co-Director of Honor the Earth, a national advocacy group encouraging public support and funding for native environmental groups. In her own community in northern Minnesota, she is the founder of the White Earth Land Recovery Project, one of the largest reservation-based non-profits in the country, and a leader on culturally-based sustainable development strategies, renewable energy and food systems. In 1994, Time magazine named her one of America’s fifty most promising leaders under forty, and in 2007, LaDuke was inducted into the National Women’s Hall of Fame.

ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Keri Pickett’s work documents those who seek to right a wrong, sharing stories of how one person can make a difference. Her award-winning documentary feature film ‘First Daughter and the Black Snake’ (2017 – 94 minutes) follows environmental activist Winona LaDuke’s family and communities’ efforts to keep Sandpiper and Line 3 pipelines from out of treaty protected lands and sacred wild-rice lakes. Her first documentary feature film, ‘The Fabulous Ice Age’ (2013- 72 minutes) spans a century of dancing on ice and one man’s quest to save the history. The film is streaming on Netflix, sub-titled into ten languages. Virgil Films & Entertainment distributes in all media DVD, Amazon, iTunes. Keri’s short documentary film, ‘Steel // Spirit’, (2015 – 10 minutes) features Movement Artist Yves Musard interacting with Richard Serra’s “Inside, Outside, 2013” at the Gagosian Gallery in New York City, NY.

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS

To obtain an educational or institutional license for FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE for an institution anywhere in North America, click here and fill in the educational request form.

BOOK A SCREENING

To book FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE for a film festival, a grassroots screening or a community event in Canada, simply follow this link to our online booking form, or scroll to the bottom of this page where you'll find the form. We'll get back to you in a jiffy.

SCREENINGS

Winoma, MN
- Feb 7, 2018, 6:30PM
, Frozen River Film Festival, (St-Mary's University Salvi Hall, 700 Terrace Heights)

Richmond, VA
- Nov 19, 2017, 3:35PM
, Pocohontas Reframed Storytellers Film Festival, (The Bryd Theater, 2908 W Cary St)

Santa Monica, CA
- Nov 13, 2017, 8PM
, Red Nation Film Festival, (Laemmle Monica Film Center, 1332 2nd St)

San Francisco, CA
- Nov 5, 2017, 3:30PM
, American Indian Film Festival, (American Indian Film Institute, 2940 16th Street)

Portland, OR
- Sep 28, 2017, 6:30PM
, Portland Eco-Film Fest, (Hollywood Theater, 4122 NE Sandy Boulevard)

Jacksonville, FL
- Sep 6, 2017, 2PM
, Jacksonville Documentary Film Festival, (Sun Ray Cinema, 1028 Park St)

Santa Fe, CA
- August 18, 2017, 8PM
, Red Nation Film Festival, (Violet Crown Cinema, 1606 Alcaldesa St)

Marfa, AZ
- July 15, 2017
, Marfa Film Festival, (Crowley Theater, 98 S Austin St)

Madeline, WI
- July 6, 2017, 9:30 PM
, Madeline Island Summer Film Festival, (The Inn, 641 Fort Rd)

Duluth, MN
- June 1, 2017, 7PM
, Duluth Superior Film Festival, (Zeitgeist Atrium, 222 E Superior St)

Onamia, MN
- May 28, 2017
, Mille Lacs Museum and Trading Post, (43411 Oodena Dr)

Minneapolis, MN
- April 27, 2017, 7PM
, Minneapolis St. Paul International Film Festival, (Film Space Founder's Hall, 387 Maria Avenue)

Tucson, AZ
- April 24, 2017, 6PM
, Arizona International Film Festival, (The Screening Room, 127 East Congress)

Santa Monica, CA
- Feb 23, 2017
, Native Women in Film, (Laemmle Monica Film Center, 1332 2nd St)

FIRST DAUGHTER AND THE BLACK SNAKE: Screening Requests

If in doubt, please mention your venue's seating capacity

Please enter full address with postal code

if different from Shipping Address

If relevant

If relevant

 

Join us on Facebook