Aller au contenu principal

// Illusions of Control - Distribution

Illusions of Control - Distribution

 

Still from ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL

Cinema Politica est fier d'être le distributeur canadien d'ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL, le plus récent documentaire de Shannon Walsh, qui révèle des stratégies pour prospérer dans les ruines de la modernité. Ci-dessous, vous pouvez lire le synopsis du film, en apprendre plus sur la réalisatrice et entamer les démarches pour organiser une projection de ce documentaire révélateur dans votre communauté ou votre festival/institution dès aujourd’hui!

À PROPOS DU FILM

Réalisatrice: Shannon Walsh
Durée: 87 minutes
Langues: Anglais, japonais, mandarin, espagnol, avec sous-titres anglais
Sortie: 2019

Une méditation fascinante sur la résilience face au désastre, ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL se déroule dans des paysages irrévocablement modifiés par des tentatives humaines de les maîtriser. Cinq femme font face à des crises insupportables: Silvia est à la recherche de sa fille disparue dans les déserts du Nord du Mexique; Yang tente de contenir le désert qui prend de l'ampleur en Chine; Kaori mobilise des mères à titre de scientifiques-citoyennes afin de surveiller les radiations à Fukushima, au Japon; Stacey utilise le savoir autochtone pour confronter des héritages toxiques à Yellowknife; et Lauren est à la croisée des chemins d'un diagnostique de cancer en phase terminale à Chicago. Quelles opportunités nous offre l'instabilité écologique pour imaginer de nouvelles façons d'entrer en relation les uns avec les autres, avec les lieux que nous habitons et avec nos futurs collectifs? Chaque histoire révèle des manières surprenantes de continuer d'avancer et de réimaginer la vie dans les ruines de la modernité.

Pour en apprendre plus, visitez le site officiel du film et visionnez la bande-annonce ci-dessous.

CRITIQUES

“Complexe, triste, et étrangement beau.”
- Susan G. Cole, POV Magazine

"Un témoignage de la résilience."
- Norman Wilner, NOW Toronto

À PROPOS DE LA RÉALISATRICE

Shannon Walsh est une cinéaste, autrice et Professeure adjointe au département de théâtre et de film de la University of British Columbia. Elle est la scénariste et la réalisatrice des longs métrages documentaires Jeppe on a Friday (2013), St-Henri, the 26th of August (2011), et H2Oil (2009). Elle a terminé son premier court métrage documentaire en réalité virtuelle 360, Disappearance: Hong Kong Stories, en 2017. En 2018, son premier scénario de long métrage de fiction, Unidentified Minor, était parmi les dix finalistes de la compétition de scénarios Cinequest. En 2017, le scénario a aussi remporté le titre de Meilleur scénario à petit budget lors du 15ème Female Eye Film Festival, a figuré sur la liste restreinte du prix "CBC-TIFF Diverse screenwriting award", a atteint le quart de finale de la compétition des scénarios courts, en plus de faire partie de la sélection officielle de la compétition de l'Oaxaca Film Festival. Il a aussi été sélectionné pour le lab "Women in the Director's Chair "Story & Development", le Stowe Story Lab, et le programme de mentorat WIFTV dans le cadre du festival de film de Whistler. Unidentified Minor a fait partie deux fois de la liste restreinte du Sundance Screenwriters Lab. 

Les films de Shannon Walsh ont effectués des sorties en salles au Canada, au Royaume-Uni et en Afrique du Sud, et ont été présentés dans plus de 60 festivals de films à travers le monde, incluant Hot Docs, Visions du Réel, Beijing, La Rochelle, Rome, Paris Cinéma, Durban, Bergen et plusieurs autres. Ses documentaires ont été diffusé nationalement et internationalement sur Netflix, CBC, Discovery, Al Jazeera, Fox Africa, SABC, Télé-Quebéc, Global et Canal-D, en plus d'être présentés dans des salles de musées, incluant la 56ème biennale de Venise et le Centre Pompidou à Paris. Son oeuvre a été soutenue par l'Office national du film du Canada, Telefilm, SODEC, Vision du SudEst, CALQ, la Gauteng Film Commission et le Conseil des arts du Canada, parmi d'autres.

LICENCE À DES FINS PÉDAGOGIQUES

Pour obtenir une licence de projection de ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL à des fins pédagogiques ou pour une institution en Amérique du Nord, cliquez ici et compléter le formulaire.

ORGANISEZ UNE PROJECTION

Pour organiser une projection de ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL dans votre salle de cinéma, pour un festival de film, une projection populaire ou un événement communautaire, simplement suivre ce lien vers notre formulaire de demande en ligne, ou rendez-vous au bas de cette page pour accéder au formulaire. Nous vous répondrons en un rien de temps.

PROJECTIONS

Waterloo, ON
Zonta Film Festival
- 9 nov, 2019, 18:10, Princess Twin Cinemas (46 King Street North)
- 8 nov, 2019, 15:30, Princess Twin Cinemas (46 King Street North)

London, ON
Forest City Festival
- 27 oct, 2019, 12:30, Wolf Performance Hall (252 Dundas Street)
- 26 oct, 2019, 12:30, Imagine Cinema, Citi Plaza (355 Wellington St.)

Calgary, AB
Calgary International Film Festival
- 27 sept, 2019, 18:30, Eau Claire 1 (200 Barclay Parade SW #200)
- 23 sept, 2019, 16:30, Globe Cinema (617 8 Ave SW)

 

Cassel, Germany
Kassel Dokfest
- 14 Nov, 2019, 17:15, Goethestrasse 31 (34119 Cassel)

Vancouver, CB
DOXA Documentary Film Festival
- 6 mai, 2019, 19:00, Vancity Theatre (1181 Seymour St)
- 12 mai, 2019, 15:45, The Cinematheque (1131 Howe St)

 

Toronto, ON
Première mondiale, Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival
- 28 avril, 2019, 21:00, TIFF Bell Lightbox 2 (350 King St W)
- 30 avril, 2019, 14:30, Scotiabank Theatre, Cinema 3 (259 Richmond St)
- 2 mai, 2019, 10:00, TIFF BEll Lightbox 3 (350 King St W)

ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL: Screening Requests

If in doubt, please mention your venue's seating capacity

Please enter full address with postal code

if different from Shipping Address

If relevant

If relevant

Skip to main content

// Illusions of Control - Distribution

Illusions of Control - Distribution

 

Still from ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL

Cinema Politica is proud to be the Canadian distributor of Shannon Walsh's latest documentary ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL, which reveals strategies for flourishing in the ruins of modernity. Below you can read the film's synopsis, learn about the fllmmaker, and importantly—book this insightful documentary for a screening in your community or at your festival/institution today! 

ABOUT THE FILM

Director: Shannon Walsh
Running time: 87 minutes
Languages: English, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish, with English subtitles
Release: 2019

A riveting meditation on resilience in the face of disaster, ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL unfolds in landscapes irrevocably shaped by human attempts to dominate them. Five women confront unbearable crises: Silvia searches for her missing daughter in the deserts of northern Mexico; Yang attempts to hold back the expanding desert in China; Kaori mobilizes mothers as citizen-scientist to monitor radiation in Fukushima, Japan; Stacey builds on Indigenous knowledge to confront toxic legacies in Yellowknife; and, Lauren stands at the crossroads of a terminal cancer diagnosis in Chicago. What opportunities does ecological instability offer for imagining new ways of relating to each other, to the places we inhabit, and to our collective future? Each story reveals surprising ways to live on, and reimagine life in the ruins.

To learn more, visit the official website of the film.

REVIEWS

“This film questions why we are acting so complacent about protecting the only planet we have.”
- Tiffy Thompson, She Does the City

“An educational and informative work, Illusions of Control is no illusion when it comes to any world problems.”
- Nick Wangersky, Hollywood North Magazine

“With increasingly unnerving serenity, Vancouver director Shannon Walsh interweaves portraits of five women dealing with personal and systemic crises all over the world.”
- Norman Wilner, NOW Toronto

“Complex, sad and strangely beautiful.”
- Susan G. Cole, Point of View Magazine

“Illusions of Control unfolds as a remarkable collection of micro-narratives meditating on the human will to persevere.”
- Adrian Mack, The Georgia Straight

ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Shannon Walsh is a filmmaker, writer and Assistant Professor in the Department of Theatre and Film at the University of British Columbia. She is writer and director of the feature documentaries Jeppe on a Friday (2013), St-Henri, the 26th of August (2011), and H2Oil (2009). She finished her first short non-fiction 360 VR, Disappearance: Hong Kong Stories, in 2017. In 2018, her first fiction feature script, Unidentified Minor, was a top 10 finalist at the Cinequest Screenplay Competition. In 2017, the script also won Best Low-Budget Screenplay at the 15th Female Eye Film Festival, was shortlisted for the CBC-TIFF Diverse screenwriting award, a quarterfinalist in the Shore Scripts competition, as well as an official selection into competition at the 2017 Oaxaca Film Festival. It was also selected for the Women in the Director's Chair "Story & Development" lab, the Stowe Story Lab, and the WIFTV mentorship as part of the Whistler Film Festival. Unidentified Minor was shortlisted for the Sundance Screenwriters Lab twice. 

Walsh’s films have been theatrically released in Canada, the UK, and South Africa, and played in over 60 film festivals worldwide such as Hot Docs, Visions du Réel, Beijing, La Rochelle, Rome, Paris Cinéma, Durban, Bergen and others. Her documentaries have been broadcast nationally and internationally on Netflix, CBC, Discovery, Al Jazeera, Fox Africa, SABC, Télé-Quebéc, Global, and Canal-D, as well as in museum spaces, including the 56th Venice Biennale and the Pompidou Centre in Paris. Her work has been supported by the National Film Board of Canada, Telefilm, SODEC, Vision du SudEst, CALQ, the Gauteng Film Commission, and Canada Council for the Arts, amongst others.

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS

To obtain an educational or institutional license for ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL for an institution anywhere in North America, click here and fill in the educational request form.

BOOK A SCREENING

To book ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL for a film festival, a grassroots screening or a community event, simply follow this link to our online booking form, or scroll to the bottom of this page where you'll find the form. We'll get back to you in a jiffy.

SCREENINGS

Calgary, AB
Calgary International Film Festival
- Sept 27, 2019, 6:30pm, Eau Claire 1 (200 Barclay Parade SW #200)
- Sept 23, 2019, 4:30pm, Globe Cinema (617 8 Ave SW)

London, ON
Forest City Festival
- Oct 27, 2019, 12:30pm, Wolf Performance Hall (252 Dundas Street)
- Oct 26, 2019, 12:30pm, Imagine Cinema, Citi Plaza (355 Wellington St.)

Cassel, Germany
Kassel Dokfest
- Nov 14, 2019, 5:15pm, Goethestrasse 31 (34119 Cassel)

Vancouver, BC
DOXA Documentary Film Festival
- May 6, 2019, 7pm, Vancity Theatre (1181 Seymour St)
- May 12, 2019, 3:45pm, The Cinematheque (1131 Howe St)

Toronto, ON
World Premiere, Hot Docs Canadian International Documentary Festival
- April 28, 2019, 9:15pm, TIFF Bell Lightbox 2 (350 King St W)
- April 30, 2019, 2:30pm, Scotiabank Theatre, Cinema 3 (259 Richmond St)
- May 2, 2019, 10am, TIFF BEll Lightbox 3 (350 King St W)

ILLUSIONS OF CONTROL: Screening Requests

If in doubt, please mention your venue's seating capacity

Please enter full address with postal code

if different from Shipping Address

If relevant

If relevant

 

Join us on Facebook