Aller au contenu principal

// Films // The Road Forward (Droit devant)

National Film Board

The Road Forward (Droit devant)

Marie Clements / Canada / 2017 / 101 ' / Anglais

Credits

Jenn Strom
Marie Clements
Mike McKinlay
Troy Slocum
Wayne Lavallee
Shirley Vercruysse
Production Designer: James Boatman
Costume Designer: Chelsea Graham

Links & Reviews

Awards & Festivals

Official Selection, HotDocs 2017
Official Selection, DOXA Documentary Film Festival, 2017
Official Selection, Atlantic Film Festival, 2017

À Venir

Restez à l'écoute pour toutes les projections à venir!

In Production

Ce doc musical lie une étape cruciale de l’histoire des droits civils au Canada au souffle puissant animant aujourd'hui le militantisme des Premières Nations.

Synopsis

Ce documentaire musical inspiré que signe l’auteure et réalisatrice Marie Clements rattache une étape déterminante de l’histoire des droits civils au Canada — la naissance du nationalisme autochtone vers 1930 — au souffle puissant qui anime aujourd’hui le militantisme des Premières Nations.

Des entrevues avec les principaux membres des organisations autochtones les plus anciennes, la Native Brotherhood et la Native Sisterhood, mettent au jour les politiques nettement racistes qui ont suscité la création de ces mouvements et nous apprennent comment un modeste journal s’est mué en un formidable vecteur d’évolution. The Native Voice a amené les Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique à s’unir pour militer sur tous les fronts — social, politique et juridique — et provoquer de profonds changements à l’échelle nationale.

Magnifiquement filmées et présentées par un groupe de chanteurs et de musiciens canadiens parmi les plus talentueux, les séquences musicales illustrent les 80 dernières années d’action politique et de contestations qui ont ébranlé la côte ouest et le pays entier. Chaque chanson-récit, de facture exceptionnelle, s’inspire d’un article du Native Voice : déchirantes ballades sur les femmes autochtones disparues et assassinées, ou hymnes rassembleurs invitant à aller de l’avant, ces compositions relient harmonieusement le passé et le présent, portées par la ferveur des voix, du blues, du rock et des rythmes traditionnels.

À ces épisodes sonores s’intègrent de bouleversantes entrevues où musiciens et chanteurs témoignent à la fois du sens que revêt aujourd’hui pour eux le rôle artistique des Premières Nations et de la passion qui les habite.

Vibrant hommage à ceux et celles qui luttent pour la reconnaissance des droits des Premières Nations, Droit devantest une bouleversante expérience historique et un appel pressant à l’action.

Skip to main content

// Films // The Road Forward

National Film Board

The Road Forward

Marie Clements / Canada / 2017 / 101 ' / English

Credits

Jenn Strom
Marie Clements
Mike McKinlay
Troy Slocum
Wayne Lavallee
Shirley Vercruysse
Production Designer: James Boatman
Costume Designer: Chelsea Graham

Links & Reviews

Awards & Festivals

Official Selection, HotDocs 2017
Official Selection, DOXA Documentary Film Festival, 2017
Official Selection, Atlantic Film Festival, 2017

Upcoming Screenings

Stay tuned for upcoming screenings!

previously screened

In Production

This inspired musical doc connects a major turning point in Canada’s civil rights history with the powerful momentum of First Nations activism today.

Synopsis

In this inspired musical documentary, writer/director Marie Clements connects the beginnings of Indian Nationalism in the 1930s with the powerful momentum of First Nations activism today.

Interviews with key members of Canada’s oldest First Nations organizations, the Native Brotherhood and Native Sisterhood, reveal the starkly racist politics that inspired the movement as well as how a humble newspaper became a powerful force for change. The Native Voice established a lifeline between the First Nations of British Columbia, uniting them to advocate socially, politically and legally in order to effect profound change on a national level.

The documentary’s stunningly shot musical sequences, performed by an ensemble of some of Canada’s finest vocalists and musicians, bring to life the past 80 years of politics and protest on the West Coast and across the country. Inspired by articles from The Native Voice, the superbly produced story-songs range from heartbreaking ballads about the missing and murdered Indigenous women to inspirational anthems for moving forward, seamlessly connecting past and present with soaring vocals, blues, rock, and traditional beats.

Interwoven throughout the documentary are deeply moving interviews with the musicians and singers speaking intimately about what it means politically and personally to be contemporary First Nations artists, and the passion behind their work.

THE ROAD FORWARD is a rousing tribute to the fighters for First Nations rights, a soul-resounding historical experience, and a visceral call to action.

 

Join us on Facebook