Aller au contenu principal

// ÉVÉNEMENTS SPÉCIAUX // FEMDOC

FEMDOC

Septembre 01, 2015 - Octobre 31, 2016

FEMDOC est à la fois un programme de projections de documentaires provocateur, des débats publics et des documents interprétatifs qui mettent de l'avant des films réalisés par et traitant des femmes (incluant les artistes et sujets femmes cisgenres et trans*), ainsi que des problèmes sociaux, économiques, culturels et politiques qui touchent leur vie et leur travail. 

Comme pour les autres programmes thématiques de Cinema Politica, avec FEMDOC, notre but est de rassembler passionnés du film documentaire, artistes, experts, intellectuels et grand public autour d’un sujet peu exploité et sous-représenté. À cet égard, FEMDOC a trois objectifs : (1) accroître la visibilité des femmes documentaristes; (2) mettre en évidence les problèmes qui se posent aux femmes, ainsi que le traitement des questions féminines dans les documentaires; (3) créer un programme qui encourage le débat sur les sujets susmentionnés et sur le féminisme en lien aux aspects culturels et politiques du documentaire. FemDoc continue de renforcer et d'élargir le plus vaste mandat de Cinema Politica, qui est à l’intersection entre le documentaire et la justice sociale, d'assurer une représentation juste et équitable à la fois derrière et sur l'écran, et de maintenir un engagement critique avec le film indépendant. 

Nous avons lancé FemDoc à un moment particulièrement tendu au plan sociopolitique, puisque les citoyens du Québec et du Canada demeurent très divisés sur les questions qui touchent les femmes directement, telles que la justice reproductive, le viol et le travail du sexe. Les médias grand public ignorent souvent les voix des femmes et marginalisent leurs points de vue en s'appuyant fortement sur les points de vue des hommes pour traiter de ces sujets. Un bon exemple de cette mauvaise représentation est le traitement de la culture du viol, ou les reportages sensationnalistes et bidimensionnels qui s’approprient du débat au sujet de cette problématique complexe. Nous sentons également qu’en mettant l’accent sur les femmes dans le cinéma documentaire, nous offrons l’opportunité d’entamer un dialogue critique sur la disparition et le meurtre, au Canada, de femmes autochtones, un dialogue ouvert entre pratiques artistiques, représentation et spectateurs. 

FEMDOC veut offrir une vision plus solide, dynamique et critique, à travers laquelle le public sera mieux à même d’aborder ces problématiques sujettes à polémique. De même, il offre une plateforme publique inclusive, libre de tout impératif commercial, qui servira de tremplin à de nombreuses conversations couvrant les champs sociaux, économiques, politiques et culturels et qui, ultimement, nourrira un débat à voix multiples, réparateur et productif, sur des thématiques trop souvent mal-représentées ou sous-représentées par d’autres canaux médiatiques.

Avec ceci en tête, en 2015-2016, Cinema Politica fera circuler un programme d'oeuvres québécoises et canadiennes qui provoque, engage et défie les publics autour des enjeux d'équité et de représentation des genres à travers le Québec, le Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Ces films exceptionnels sont énumérés ci-dessous.

PARTENAIRES FINANCIERS

FemDoc est un projet soutenu par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

CALC LogoLE CONSEIL DES ARTS ET DES LETTRES DU QUÉBEC
calq.gouv.qc.ca
Le CALQ a pour mission de soutenir, dans toutes les régions du Québec, la création artistique et littéraire, l’expérimentation, la production et la diffusion. Les domaines dans lesquels le CALQ exerce ses attributions sont la littérature et le conte, les arts de la scène, les arts multidisciplinaires, les arts médiatiques, les arts visuels, les métiers d’art ainsi que la recherche architecturale. Le CALQ soutient également le rayonnement des artistes, des écrivains, des organismes artistiques et de leurs œuvres, que ce soit au Québec, ailleurs au Canada ou à l’étranger.

PROJECTIONS

Lundi
24 Oct
19:00
Janelle Wookey & Jeremie Wookey / CA / 2015 / 49 '
A deeply intimate look at the frightening realities of food insecurity as faced by two of Canada’s most isolated northern First Nation communities.
Mardi
27 Sep
19:00
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.
Dimanche
25 Sep
14:00
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.
Mercredi
14 Sep
17:30
Lia Tarachansky / PS / 2013 / 82 '
A look at Israelis’ collective amnesia of the fateful events of 1948, when the state of Israel was born and most of the Palestinians became refugees.
Samedi
10 Sep
19:00
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.

Skip to main content

// Special Events // FEMDOC

FEMDOC

September 01, 2015 - October 31, 2016

FemDoc is a provocative program of film screenings, public discussions and interpretative material that showcases works by and about women (both cis-women and trans* artists or subjects included), as well as the social, economic, cultural and political issues that affect their lives and work. Like other Cinema Politica programs, with FemDoc we seek to engage documentary audiences, artists, experts, intellectuals and the public at large with an under-served or narrowly represented topic. In this regard FemDoc has three goals: (1) To increase the visibility of women filmmakers; (2) To highlight women’s issues and women subjects in documentary cinema; and finally (3) To create a program that invites discussions around the above topics, as well as feminism as it relates to documentary culture and politics. FemDoc, continues to strengthen and expand Cinema Politica’s larger mandate to bring together documentary and social justice, to foster fair and equitable representation on screen and behind the camera, and to create audience spaces and platforms for inclusive, critical engagement with independent film.

We launched FemDoc during a moment of great socio-political upheaval, as citizens in Quebec and Canada remain intensely divided on questions directly affecting women, such as reproductive justice, rape and sex-work. The mainstream media often ignores women’s voices and marginalizes women’s perspectives by relying heavily on male perspectives to frame those stories. A good example for such misrepresentation is the topic of rape culture, where sensationalized or two-dimensional reportage often forecloses on engaged discussion around these complex issues. We also feel that by focusing on women in documentary cinema an opportunity to open up critical dialogue around Canada’s missing and murdered Indigenous women must open up, one that can be uniquely engaged in artistic practices, representation, and spectatorship.

FemDoc seeks to offer a more robust, dynamic and critical lens through which audiences and publics can approach these charged issues, as well as an inclusive public platform free of commercial imperatives from which to launch conversations that cut across social, economic, political and cultural lines, ultimately fostering a multi-vocal, healing and productive discussion on topics all too often misrepresented or under-represented by other media channels.

With this in mind, in 2016 Cinema Politica circulated a program of Quebecois and Canadian works that provoke, engage and challenge audiences regarding gender equity and representation throughout Quebec, Canada and abroad. These exceptional films are listed below.

PARTNERS & FUNDERS

FemDoc is a project supported by the Conseil des arts et des lettre du Québec.

CALC LogoLE CONSEIL DES ARTS ET DES LETTRES DU QUÉBEC
calq.gouv.qc.ca
The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec supports, throughout Québec, creation, experimentation, production and dissemination in the realms of the visual arts, the arts and crafts, literature, the performing arts, the multidisciplinary arts, cinema and video, the digital arts and architectural research. The Conseil also seeks to broaden the influence of artists, writers, arts organizations and their works in Québec, Canada and abroad.

screenings

Monday
Oct 24
07:00 pm
Janelle Wookey & Jeremie Wookey / CA / 2015 / 49 '
A deeply intimate look at the frightening realities of food insecurity as faced by two of Canada’s most isolated northern First Nation communities.
Tuesday
Sep 27
07:00 pm
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.
Sunday
Sep 25
02:00 pm
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.
Wednesday
Sep 14
05:30 pm
Lia Tarachansky / PS / 2013 / 82 '
A look at Israelis’ collective amnesia of the fateful events of 1948, when the state of Israel was born and most of the Palestinians became refugees.
Saturday
Sep 10
07:00 pm
Min Sook Lee / CA / 2016 / 88 '
A powerful documentary that exposes the under-told story of migrant agricultural workers struggling against Canada’s Temporary Foreign Worker Program.
 

Join us on Facebook