Aller au contenu principal

// Oncle Bernard: L'anti-leçon d'économie - Distribution

Oncle Bernard: L'anti-leçon d'économie - Distribution

 

Still from ONCLE BERNARD

Cinema Politica est fier d'être le distributeur canadien (hors Québec) de ONCLE BERNARD: L'ANTI-LEÇON D'ÉCONOMIE, le long métrage primé du cinéaste Richard Brouillette. Ci-dessous, vous pouvez lire le synopsis du film, en apprendre plus sur le réalisateur et entamer les démarches pour organiser une projection de ce documentaire révélateur dans votre communauté ou votre festival/institution dès aujourd’hui!

À PROPOS DU FILM

Réalisatrice: Richard Brouillette
Durée: 79 minutes
Langues: Français
Sortie: 2015

Bernard Maris, alias Oncle Bernard, fut assassiné lors de l'attentat à Charlie Hebdo, le 7 janvier 2015. Tournée en mars 2000,, dans le contexte du film L’encerclement – La démocratie dans les rets du néolibéralisme, cette fascinante entrevue avec Oncle B., constitue une véritable « anti-leçon d’économie ». Sans fard ni artifice, le réalisateur laisse toute la place à la parole riche, dissidente, acérée et mutine de Maris. En toute liberté, celui-ci assène à loisir des vérités percutantes qui renversent les dogmes sempiternellement ressassés par le chœur vibrant de la valetaille de la « science » économique. Formidable vulgarisateur dont la verve, l’éloquence, l’érudition et l’alacrité parviennent à rendre passionnants les sujets les plus arides, Oncle Bernard déploie au fil de cet entretien une pensée courageuse en son originalité, qui se révèle d’autant plus précieuse en ces temps de démission intellectuelle et d’austérité économique.

Pour en apprendre plus, visitez le site officiel du film.

À PROPOS DU RÉALISATEUR

Richard Brouillette est un producteur, réalisateur, monteur et programmateur. D’abord critique de cinéma à l’hebdomadaire Voir (1989), il a ensuite œuvré pour la société de distribution indépendante Cinéma Libre (1989-1999). En 1993, il a fondé le centre d’artiste autogéré La Casa Obscura, un lieu de création et de diffusion pluridisciplinaire, où il organise depuis un ciné-club hebdomadaire, Les projections libérantes, dont il est aussi le projectionniste. Il a produit et réalisé Trop c’est assez (doc., 111 min., 1995), pour lequel il s’est mérité le prestigieux prix Prix M. Joan Chalmers du meilleur documentaire canadien, en 1996; Carpe diem (essai, 5 min., 1995), L’encerclement – La démocratie dans les rets du néolibéralisme (doc., 160 min., 2008), qui s'est mérité six distinctions dont les prestigieux Grand Prix Robert et Frances Flaherty du Festival international du film documentaire de Yamagata 2009 et Grand Prix La Poste Suisse du festival Visions du réel 2009. Plus récemment, il a produit et réalisé Prends garde à la douceur des choses (essai, 2 min., 2014) et Oncle Bernard – L’anti-leçon d’économie (doc., 79 min., 2015), qui s’est mérité le prix La Vague du meilleur documentaire au FICFA 2015. De plus, il a participé en tant que coréalisateur au film collectif À St‐Henri le 26 août (doc., 87 min, 2011). Il a aussi produit six longs métrages et a agi comme producteur conseil sur plusieurs projets documentaires, dont Les mers amères, de Félix Lamarche. Richard Brouillette a toujours été très actif dans le milieu du cinéma indépendant québécois, en prenant part à plusieurs actions politiques et en se dévouant à la cause de nombreux centres d’artistes autogérés. Aussi, depuis 1993, il a siégé sur le conseil d’administration de différents organismes, dont Main Film (2002-2015). Actuellement, il est administrateur de Cinéma Politica et de l’Amicale de la culture indépendante (association qui gère La Casa Obscura).

LICENCE À DES FINS PÉDAGOGIQUES

Pour obtenir une licence de projection d'ONCLE BERNARD à des fins pédagogiques ou pour une institution, cliquez ici et compléter le formulaire.

ORGANISEZ UNE PROJECTION

Pour organiser une projection de ONCLE BERNARD pour un festival de film, une projection populaire ou un événement communautaire, simplement suivre ce lien vers notre formulaire de demande en ligne, ou rendez-vous au bas de cette page pour accéder au formulaire. Nous vous répondrons en un rien de temps.

PROJECTIONS

Organiser une projection d'ONCLE BERNARD: L'ANTI-LEÇON D'ÉCONOMIE

En cas de doute, s'il-vous-plaît indiquer la capacité de la salle

S'il-vous-plaît indiquer l'adresse complète, incluant le code postal.

Si différente de l'adresse de livraison

Si pertinent

Si pertinent

Skip to main content

// Oncle Bernard: A Counter-Lesson in Economics - Distribution

Oncle Bernard: A Counter-Lesson in Economics - Distribution

 

Still from ONCLE BERNARD

Cinema Politica is proud to be the Canadian distributor (except Quebec) of Richard Brouillette's award-winning ONCLE BERNARD: A COUNTER-LESSON IN ECONOMICS. Below you can read the film's synopsis, learn about the fllmmaker, and importantly—book this insightful documentary for a screening in your community or at your festival/institution today! 

ABOUT THE FILM

Director: Richard Brouillette
Running time: 79 minutes
Languages: French, with English subtitles
Release: 2015

Economist Bernard Maris, a.k.a. "Oncle Bernard", was killed during the Charlie Hebdo shooting, on January 7, 2015. This fascinating interview with him was filmed in March 2000 as part of the documentary Encirclement – Neo-Liberalism Ensnares Democracy. Frank and unvarnished, this is a true "counter lesson in economics" in which the director gives centre stage to Maris' vibrant, incisive, and mischievous words of dissent. Maris strikes at leisure, unleashing hard-hitting truths that challenge the dogmas that are incessantly rehashed by the vibrant choir enslaved to the "science" of Economics. With his wit, eloquence, and erudition, and his prodigious capacity to distill complex issues and make the most arduous subject matters exciting, "Oncle Bernard" unveils his courageously original ideas over the course of the interview – ideas that are all the more precious in this era of intellectual resignation and economic austerity.

To learn more, visit the official website of the film.

REVIEWS

“A fascinating one-on-one conversation with the late Bernard Maris, economist and columnist at Charlie Hebdo. More than a tribute, an expression of his intelligence and humor."
- Alexandre Prouvèze, Time Out

“A long static shot has never been so exhilerating."
- Mathias Averty, Première

“A passionate deciphering of economics. […] A skillful crafted tribute."
- Cécile Rousseau, L'humanité

ABOUT THE DIRECTOR

Richard Brouillette is a film producer, director, editor and programmer. Starting as a film critic for the Montréal weekly, Voir, he then worked for Québec's top independent distribution company, Cinéma Libre (1989-1999), which has since folded. In 1993, he founded the artist-run center La Casa Obscura, a multi-disciplinary exhibition space, where he still runs a weekly cine-club called Les projections libérantes, for which he is also the projectionist. He produced and directed Too Much Is Enough (doc., 111 min., 1995) for which he has won the prestigious M. Joan Chalmers Award (Best Canadian Documentary), in 1996; Carpe diem (essay, 5 min., 1995), and Encirclement – Neo-Liberalism Ensnares Democracy (doc., 160 min., 2008), for which he won six awards including the prestigious Robert and Frances Flaherty Grand Prize of the 2009 Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival and Grand Prize La Poste Suisse of the 2009 Visions du réel festival. More recently, he produced and directed Prends garde à la douceur des choses (essay, 2 min., 2014) and Oncle Bernard – A Counter-Lesson in Economics (doc., 79 min., 2015), which won the La Vague Award for Best Documentary of the 2015 FICFA. He also took part in the collective film St-Henri, the 26th of August (doc., 87 min, 2011). He has also produced six feature length films and has acted as a consulting producer on a number of documentary projects, including Les mers amères, by Félix Lamarche. Richard Brouillette has always been very active in Québec’s independent film community, participating in militant actions and devoting himself to the cause of artist-run centers. Since 1993, he has also sat on the Boards of various organizations, including Main Film (2002-2015). He is currently part of the Boards of Cinema Politica, and l’Amicale de la culture indépendante, the coop that manages Casa Obscura.

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS

To obtain an educational or institutional license for ONCLE BERNARD for an institution, click here and fill in the educational request form.

BOOK A SCREENING

To book ONCLE BERNARD for a film festival, a grassroots screening or a community event, simply follow this link to our online booking form, or scroll to the bottom of this page where you'll find the form. We'll get back to you in a jiffy.

SCREENINGS

 

ONCLE BERNARD: A COUNTER-LESSON IN ECONOMICS: Screening Requests

If in doubt, please mention your venue's seating capacity

Please enter full address with postal code

if different from Shipping Address

If relevant

If relevant

 

Join us on Facebook