Our Dance of Revolution

par Phillip Pike
Documentaire primé sur l'histoire de l'activisme queer noir à Toronto, sur les communautés qui ont fait face à toutes les épreuves, de l'invisibilité à la brutalité policière.
2019  ·  1h42m  ·  Canada
Anglais, Français
Anglais, Français subs
À propos du film

“Nous sommes un peuple de révolution. Nous sommes ici car d’autres se sont rebellés. Car d’autres se sont levés dans une résistance solide!”

En écoutant Angela, une féministe Noire lesbienne acclamé par la foule, nous comprenons qu’en effet, cette révolution n’était pas télévisée. Plutôt, elle s’est formée dans l’ombre, et elle était embrassée, chantée, marchée et dansée.

OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION conte l’histoire des difficultés auxquelles font face les personnes LGBTQ+ Noir.es à Toronto, allant de l’invisibilité à la brutalité policière, et comment elles se sont relevées pour devenir une communauté vibrante et téméraire. Capturant des récits à la première personne tout au long de quatre décennies, ce long-métrage documentaire est plus qu’une histoire orale ignorée jusqu’à maintenant, plus qu’une réclamation d’évènements et de personnes méconnues.

À travers l’objectif du réalisateur Phillip Pike, nous entrevoyons le rôle central joué historiquement par les lesbiennes noires dans la communauté queer de Toronto, l’impact de l’épidémie de VIH et les efforts de base pour l’éducation et le soutien, les drag queens de Church Street et le défi de Blockorama à la blancheur des Fierté. OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION est un hommage à taille humaine de comment ces individus audacieux se sont trouvés eux-mêmes en trouvant les autres, et comment elles et ils trouvent la force, le courage, et la créativité de triompher contre les forces de la marginalisation.

Disponibilité de la distribution : Canada (cinéma, non théâtral, usage domestique); États-Unis (non cinématographique, usage domestique) dans le monde entier (diffusion, festivals, droits Internet)
Projections à venir

Restez à l'écoute pour des projections à venir!

Festivals et prix
2019
Hot Docs, Official Selection (World Premiere)
2019
KASHISH Mumbai International Queer Film Festival , Official Selection (International Premiere)
Editeur.rice
Eugene Weis
Directeur.rice de la photographie
Jack Weisman
Compositeur de bande son
Gavin Bradley
En lien avec le film
À propos du cinéaste

Phillip Pike

Phillip Pike est un réalisateur de documentaires émergent. Un diplômé de la Faculté de Droit de l’Université McGill, son trajet de découverte personnel et professionnel l’a amené d’une carrière à changer les choses en tant qu’activiste communautaire et avocat des droits de l’Homme à une carrière à changer les choses en tant que réalisateur de documentaires indépendants.

Il est diplômé du Documentary Filmmaking Institute (School of Creative Arts & Animation, Seneca College, Toronto). Il a également reçu une formation intensive en production vidéo à Trinity Square Video à Toronto et la Bay Area Video Coalition à San Francisco.

Complété en 2003, son premier documentaire, Songs of Freedom, raconte des histoires captivantes de courage et d’espoir de personnes gaies et lesbiennes vivant en Jamaïque. Acclamé par la critique et par le public, Songs of Freedom était dans la sélection officielle de plusieurs festivals et a été acquis pour diffusion en Amérique du Nord par une chaîne de télé spécialisée. OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION est le troisième film de Phillip, et son deuxième long-métrage.

 

Share

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Tumblr
StumbleUpon
Pocket
Telegram
Email

Partager

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Tumblr
StumbleUpon
Pocket
Telegram
Email

Our Dance of Revolution

by Phillip Pike
Award-winning documentary on the history of Black queer activism in Toronto, on communities that have faced every adversity from invisibility to police brutality.
2019  ·  1h42m  ·  Canada
English, French
English, French subs
About the Film

“We are people of revolution. We’re here because others have rebelled. Because others have stood in solid resistance!”

Listening to Angela, a Black lesbian feminist who is rousing a crowd, we understand that, no, this particular revolution wasn’t televised. Rather, from out of the shadows, it was embraced, chanted, marched and danced into existence.

OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION tells the story of how Black queer folks in Toronto faced every adversity, from invisibility to police brutality, and rose up to become a vibrant, triple-snap-fierce community. Capturing first-person accounts and invaluable archival photographs across a span of four decades, this feature-length documentary is more than a previously untold oral history, more than a reclamation of unsung people and events.

Through director Phillip Pike’s lens, we glimpse at the central role historically played by Black lesbians in Toronto’s queer community, the impact of the HIV epidemic and grassroots efforts for education and support, the distinction of Toronto’s Church Street drag queens, and the defiance of Blockorama to the whiteness of Pride. OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION is ultimately a human-scale reckoning of how audacious individuals find themselves by connecting with others, and how they muster the courage, tenacity, and creativity to prevail against the forces of marginalization.

Distribution Availability: Canada (Theatrical, Non-Theatrical, Home-Use); United States (Non-Theatrical, Home-Use) Worldwide (Broadcast, Festivals, Internet Rights)
Upcoming Screenings

Stay tuned for upcoming screenings!

Cinema Politica is the proud Canadian distributor of Our Dance of Revolution. Visit our distribution catalog to learn more about the licensing options.
Festivals and Awards
2019
Hot Docs, Official Selection (World Premiere)
2019
KASHISH Mumbai International Queer Film Festival , Official Selection (International Premiere)
Editor
Eugene Weis
Cinematographer
Jack Weisman
Soundtrack Composer
Gavin Bradley
About the Director

Phillip Pike

Phillip Pike is an emerging documentary filmmaker. As a graduate of McGill University’s Faculty of Law, Phillip’s journey of personal and professional discovery has taken him from a career creating change as a community activist and human rights lawyer to a career creating change through storytelling as an independent documentary filmmaker.

He is a graduate of the Documentary Filmmaking Institute (School of Creative Arts & Animation, Seneca College, Toronto). He also received intensive training in video production at Trinity Square Video in Toronto and the Bay Area Video Coalition in San Francisco.

Completed in 2003, his first documentary, Songs of Freedom, tells compelling stories of courage and hope of gays and lesbians living in Jamaica. Critically acclaimed and well received by audiences, Songs of Freedom was an official selection at several film festivals and was acquired for broadcast across North America on a specialty TV channel. OUR DANCE OF REVOLUTION is Phillip’s third film and second feature.

 

Share

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Tumblr
StumbleUpon
Pocket
Telegram
Email