Aller au contenu principal

// Films // Polyland

Polyland

Dáša Raimanova & Zofia Brom / Pologne / 2018 / 71 ' / Polonais / S.T. Anglais

Credits

Dáša Raimanova & Zofia Brom
Dáša Raimanova & Zofia Brom

Links & Reviews

Awards & Festivals

Respect Belfast Human Rights Film Festival 2018
Sopot International Film Festival 2018
LGBT Film Festival Poland 2018
Festival Formula, 2018

À Venir

Restez à l'écoute pour toutes les projections à venir!

PRÉCÉDENTS

In Production

Trois femmes issues de différentes minorités en Pologne explorent ce que signifie être Noire, Musulmane, ou LGBTQ+ dans une Europe de plus en plus hostile.

Synopsis

Comment se sent-on quand on est Noire, LGBTQ+ ou musulmane en Pologne? POLYLAND donne une voix à trois femmes issues de différentes minorités en Pologne et explore les nuances de ce que peuvent ressentir les personnes Noires, musulmanes ou LGBTQ+ dans le pays le plus homogène d'une Europe qui penche de plus en plus vers la droite. Toutes trois sont nées en Pologne et vivent présentement à Wroclaw, la plus grande ville de Pologne de l'Ouest. Ania, Miriam et Elmelda cherchent à être vues, non pas en tant que "l'autre", mais comme partie intégrante de la société polonaise.

Leurs efforts incluent la création de groupes d'aides, l'organisation de manifestations et des entrevues télévisées et... alors que tout semble aller dans la bonne direction et qu'elles croient qu'une société libérale est à portée de main, un tournant radical de la politique polonaise détruit leurs espoirs et leur confiance en 2015.

Leur désir d'appartenance correspond à plusieurs autres histoires à travers le monde et semble de plus en plus difficile à réaliser dans un climat politique affecté par le Brexit, Donald Trump et la montée des gouvernements de droite à travers l'Europe.

Still from Polyland
Still from Polyland
 

On Demand

Polyland

by Dáša Raimanova & Zofia Brom
Three women from minority groups in Poland critically explore what it’s like to be Black, Muslim or LGBTQ+ in the increasingly hostile environment of Europe.
2018  ·  1h11m  ·  Poland
English, Polish
English subs
About the Film

How does it feel to be black, LGBTQ+ or Muslim in Poland? POLYLAND gives a voice to three strong female characters from different minorities in Poland and explores the nuances of how it feels to be black, Muslim or LGBTQ+ in the most homogeneous country in an ever more right-leaning Europe. All three were born in Poland and currently are citizens of Wroclaw, the biggest city in Western Poland. Ania, Miriam and Elmelda seek to be seen, not as “the other”, but as a part of Polish society.

Their efforts involve creating self-help groups, organizing protests and appearances on local TV and… Everything appears to be going towards the right direction, the women believe that a liberal society is within reach until the recent, dramatic shift in Polish politics in 2015 shatters their hopes and confidence.

Their wish for belonging reflects many other stories across the world and seems more and more difficult to achieve in the current political climate of Brexit, Donald Trump and the upsurge of right-wing governments across Europe.

Upcoming Screenings

Stay tuned for upcoming screenings!

Festivals and Awards
2018
Respect Belfast Human Rights Film Festival, Official Selection
2018
Sopot International Film Festival, Official Selection
2018
LGBT Film Festival Poland, Official Selection
2018
Festival Formula, Official Selection
Producer
Dáša Raimanova and Zofia Brom
Writer
Dáša Raimanova and Zofia Brom

Share

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Reddit
Tumblr
StumbleUpon
Pocket
Telegram
Email